Game Hunting Season is Open!!!

The season has officially opened.  I went to my first yard sales of the year today and managed to score a few NES games and a Gameboy title.  I already have these games, but at $10 for all three how could I pass up a deal like that?!

IMG_8025

IMG_8024

These next two games are from Value Village, but man is it ever getting pricy over there.  If it wasn’t for my 30% off cards that I get for donating to the store, there is no way I would pick up these games.  They actually had a Zelda 3DS XL for sale… but they wanted a whopping $280!!  Even with the 30% off card it still wasn’t worth it; at least not to me.  The other day when I was in the store I noticed that it had sold… so I suppose it was worth it to someone.  This I don’t understand as you can buy it brand new for cheaper??!!

IMG_8026

Anyways the pick ups from Value Village were Super Smash Bros. and Fire Emblem for the 3DS.  Discounted they both came to $45 after tax… still a lot for a thrift store, but I guess video games are REALLY hot right now so why not charge whatever you can get?  At least some of the money goes to charity.  I’ll probably trade Smash Bros., but will keep Fire Emblem for a while as I’ve heard a lot of good things about this series and so I’m anxious to give it a go.

These next games were pIMG_8027urchased from a guy on Kijiji.  Now this was supposed to be a five games for $100 deal, but they guy forgot Rayman 2 at home.  So I ended up paying $85 for these four games.  I seem to be building quite the Pokemon collection, and if you’ve been followIMG_8028ing my blog you’ll know I’m not really a huge fan.  These are however some sought after titles so I should get a lot in trade.  In fact, I have built up quite the trading lot.  Still though it is not even close to being enough for a rare NES title like Panic Restaurant, or Little Sampson:(  That being said, unless I find these for a decent price,  I’ll pass on these.  There is NO WAY I’m paying top dollar for these games!

SEGA Corner:  While at the yard sales this morning, I managed to pick up a few things for the Sega Dude.  He has been on the look out for a Game Gear to replace his broken one.  I’ve occasionally seen them at Value Village but they want $35 for it which to me seems steep.  Anyways the Game Gear had a game already in it (Sonic & Tails) and I also bought a complete copy of Hang-On GP for the Sega Saturn.  Yard sales seem to be the way to go these days, however pickings are slim and unfortunately there are a lot of retro game hunters like me out there:(
IMG_8022 IMG_8023

You’ll be happy to know that I’m 2/3 of the way finished cutting cases and covers for my NES games.  I hope to have a collection blog update soon!

Until next time,

Nintendo Joe

One thought on “Game Hunting Season is Open!!!

  1. You have done well at the garage sales! I’m very excited about my new Sega Game Gear. Thanks for that excellent score Nintendo Joe!
    I have one Sega Saturn game so if that Hang-On is for me then you’ve just doubled my Saturn collection! Thanks dude!! Last year when you gave me 10 complete Sega CD games you also doubled that collection for me as well. You’re a great friend to have! Consider your friendship dues all paid up! Good Work!
    You should keep that Fire Emblem until you’ve had a chance to play it. I have it for the GBA and it is a good game. I’m curious to know if it has changed much over the years.

Leave a Reply

