A Blast From the Past

When I was a kid growing up, I was obsessed with Pac-Man and anything Pac-Man related.  I lived, breathed, and dreamed of Pac-Man.  Also I was pretty darn good at it… at least for a six year old!  We are talking about 1981 here and this was “the” game to play.  I suppose there was also Donkey Kong, and my other favourite Galaga that were also in the arcades, but Pac-Man was played by far the most frequently.  Anyways while visiting my parents, I came across some old drawings that I did in school and thought I would share them:)

Pac Man 1 Pac Man 2

I have to say… not bad (remember I was only six).  I don’t know what mark I received for these works of art, but I remember my teacher being really mean and forced me to draw something else…

Galaga

… so I gave her Galaga.  Again, not too bad, though this was all from memory and I didn’t have time to colour it:(

Pac Man

I also found this manual at my parents house.  I had this game when it first came out and I absolutely loved it!  In fact during one lunch hour I was scoring so high that my mother actually wrote me a note saying that the reason I was late going back to school was because I was heavily invested in this game!  Unfortunately I don’t know what ever happened to this game and all I have left is the manual:(  Someday though I’ll find another one of these in good shape to put into my collection.

Anyways just a short note this week as I’ve been really busy cutting boxes/covers for the rest of my NES collection.  That will likely be what I post next:)

Nintendo Joe

 

One thought on “A Blast From the Past

  1. These drawing are excellent. It’s great that your parents held onto them for so long. I’m noticing that one of the Blue Ghosts is flipping the bird. Ah, yes, that is the young Nintendo Joe that I remember!
    If you ever find those few mini arcade boxes that you’re missing snap them up! They are really nice to have in the collection.

Leave a Reply

