Video Game Vacation

springbreak_header

Well it is March Break and unfortunately because of the crappy exchange rate we will not be going down to Florida this year.  It’s hard to pass up all those flea markets on the way down, but the CAN dollar just really sucks right now.  So we are going to the lovely Kingston, Ontario for a few days.  It’s just to get away for a bit.  Of course it doesn’t hurt that Belleville is on the way (I had a lot of success last year at a video game store here last year so I’m anxious to go back) .  Who knows what goodies I’ll come home with?!  However although my hopes are up, I know that retro game prices have also gone up… so Belleville might be a downer… but as it is on the way to our destination it’s worth a look-see:)

After years of trying, I’ve finally broken the Value Village code… I know what day and what time is the best to go and pick up loot.  I can’t divulge all my secrets, but don’t worry… Nintendo Joe has your back!

IMG_7903

This was the first pick up.  Now my Japanese is a little rusty, but I believe that this is a game called Peetan.  The game (like many gameboy games) is rather simple in that you have to drop eggs down from the top platform to spring up your chicks that are being hunted by a big bad wolf.  Check out the game here.  I picked it up for $3.50 just because the label looked kind of interesting.  I had no idea that the game was going for $85US on Ebay!  Now I’m not crazy, I know this is only an asking price… and everyone on Ebay thinks their stuff is worth a fortune, but even at half that price I scored big!  I don’t really have any attachment to it, so I’ll probably use it as trade bait.SNES-Mod1-Console-SetSNES-Mod1-Console-Set

That’s right… not one, but two Super Nintendo consoles!  For $35 bucks each plus a 30% discount how could I refuse?  Again, more trade bait… I’m hoping to get $50 each in trade as they are both in excellent condition.  I know I could probably get more for them if i sold them on Kijiji, but then you have to deal with the back and forth emails, and meeting up with the person… it isn’t worth the extra few bucks.  Plus you never know what kind of psychos there are out there.

This next game is.IMG_7902.. and please excuse my rough Japanese translation, but I think it is the Sailor Moon R game for the Gameboy.  Again I paid $3.50 once all was said and done, however this one might be a bit more difficult to unload in trade as the game requires that you speak Japanese.  You can see the game play here.   Please don’t waste your time and watch the entire hour and twenty minute video…. I didn’t.  It goes for about $18 on Ebay, so I hope to get $10 out of it.  Or maybe I’ll just give it to my room mate from college… he was into Sailor Moon at the time… not sure why?!

Sega Corner:  The post wouldn’t be complete if not for a comment on the Sega Dude.  He gave me a few items that are pretty cool.  The first is a Super Mario All Star’s manual.  It is in mint shape, and I’m not sure why he had an extra copy of it, but I’ll give it a good home:)

IMG_7881

The next two things he gave me were a copy of Legacy of the Wizard and Shinobi for the NES.  Shinobi is a good game, but Legacy of the Wizard is garbage… however for some reason I don’t have either in my collection so it is a welcomed addition:)

IMG_7882

That’s all for now.  Until next time,

Nintendo Joe

 

One thought on “Video Game Vacation

  1. I’m glad I had at least a few games to give you when I recently unloaded some of my NES carts. Your collection is getting so big that it feels like you have them all!

Leave a Reply

