3DS XL!!!

IMG_5266

As the name of the post indicates I was able to get my hands on a Nintendo 3DS XL.  It came with a hefty price tag of $140, but they guy threw in an in a boxed Link Amiibo with the deal.  I have no idea how to use the thing other than that i believe it goes with Super Smash Bros..  How ever you use it, it looks in the collection.

IMG_5264

For whatever reason I just can’t get into the Smash Bros. games.  I have the N64 version, and Brawl on the Wii, but the games just seem rather pointless.  Knock your opponent off the cliff… only to have him/her come flying right back to do it all over again..  Where is the fun in this?  This isn’t to say that I don’t want them all for my collection, but that’s just because I’ve become obsessive about Nintendo.  The other day I was at the Swap Shop (a local pawn store) and they had a pretty good copy of Melee, but for a whopping price of $79!  He asked it I was interested, and I was like “no way dude”.  IMG_5268

With the 3DS XL, I also scored a copy of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, and Project X Zone.  I have yet to play either, but I hear the latter is kind of like Final Fantasy Tactics (which is a great game) except they use Capcom characters.  I really hope you get to play some of the villains as well as heroes.

So apparently I have to start collecting Amiibos now… in the box no less.  This is why I got into collecting Nintendo in the first place… it would be unending.  My collecting obsession started back in university with G1 Transformers.  Thankfully I got into these before they became super popular, and I managed to score most of my 250+ figures for not a whole lot.  What I’m trying to get at is that the Transformer collection is pretty much done.  I have no use for the Pretender, or micro series as you have to set your limit somewhere.  Nor do I have much use for the new remade figures except a few select ones (Optiumus and Megatron) for these two look glorious.

transformers_g1__the_autobots_by_ooo19415-d55lsp1Anyways this blog isn’t about Transformers, but they still are really cool.  Someday I will make a list of the ones I need and actually complete the collection.  My wife even gave me permission to do this, so perhaps I should do this quickly before she can change her mind!IMG_5270

 

I had some store credit to use so I bought up the N64 title Clay Fighter 63 1/3, Double Dare and Peter Pan for the NES.  It’s not really a big deal, but I have been hanging on to this credit for over eight months now.  I was hoping to trade it for something good like putting it towards a copy of Earthbound or one of the Mega Man X sequels, but the guy just wasn’t getting in games of this calibre.  While there I did notice that he had a copy of The Legend of Zelda Collectors Edition for the Game Cube that had been evaluated/rated as to the overall condition of the game… thus why it carried a price tag of over one hundred bucks.  To me this feels like a waste of money.  All I care about is that it is complete and in great condition.  To have some guy tell me that my game is a 9.1 instead of a 9 really doesn’t interest me.  I think this particular copy was a 9.8, but who really cares?!

maxresdefaultIn other news, I think I’ve given up on the Secret of Mana.  I’ve invested over 20 hours into this game, but I just can’t do it.  Over all this was a really cool game, but I had a heck of a time navigating around in it or trying to figure out where to go next… without cheating, and this made it lose all it’s fun.  The game became especially difficult once you acquired a dragon which transport you around the world.  While it looked really cool, I became lost so often that I couldn’t make up from down.  I can see why this game was so popular back in it’s day, but I just don’t have the patience for a game like this anymore.  The graphics were pretty good, the spells were fun (as were the way you levelled them up), and the menus were really efficient… even the story was interesting and translated well for a JRPG.  There were however several things that really annoyed me.  First and foremost while you controlled three characters at the same time, you really only had control of one.  When you select a character, the other two become NPCs with absolutely no intelligence whatsoever.  I applaud Square’s effort at designing a game in this manner, but it just didn’t work well for me at times.  Either way, I enjoyed my time with Mana, but it might be time to move onto other games.

Sega Corner: No updates at this time:(

That’s all for this edition.

Nintendo Joe 🙂

 

One thought on “3DS XL!!!

  1. I really do like Nintendo handheld systems! If there weren’t so many of them I think I’d still be collecting for them. But as it is I’ll stick with just the Game Boy Advanced.

    I would love to Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. You have to let me know what you think of it.

    Those Amiibo do look very nice but don’t get caught up in them. Everyone is talking about them and how “rare” some are. Just get the ones that you can get for a fair price and forget about a complete set. That being said, they will look very nice in your collection!

    Don’t give up on Secret of Mana! No harm giving is a rest. Your save file is will still be there when you’re ready to give it another go 🙂

Leave a Reply

