Link and the Uncharted Waters Scandal

Much to my disappointment Halloween is over:(  And what a crappy Halloween it was; at least weather wise.  Fortunately I was able to wear my Link outfit to work… and won the contest for best costume!  The prize was a $10 Tim Hortons gift card, and hey I’ll make use of that this Saturday:)  None of my co-workers knew who I was supposed to be except one… thankfully I work primarily with the youth of our society and they all knew who I was:)  IMG_4539In the end the Link costume was fairly easy to make.  The part that took the longest was designing the Hylian shield which I ended up making with some bristol board and a chunk of the election sign that was on our front yard. All in all it turned out pretty good and I am in no way disappointed.  I still do want to get a real shield and Master Sword… however the ones i made will suffice temporarily.  It confirms my prediction that they would look awesome in my basement/Nintendo Museum.  Unfortunately due to the weather we only got 22 trick-or-treaters this Halloween, so I guess I’ll have to finish off all the rest of the candy myself… the punishment isn’t so bad, I think I can take it eh?!

 

In other news I managed to score a copy of Uncharted Waters on the NES which is a big deal unto itself, but the story of how I acquired the item is even more interesting.  I bought it off a guy on Kijiji which normally is no big deal.  Unfortunately he didn’t accept my original offer of $40 (He was asking $60 despite all the websites saying $40 was all it was worth).  Anyways a month later, this game was still up for IMG_4543grabs (I guess it didn’t sell like the guy thought it would).  I sent out an email asking my friends to make a bid on the game and in the end, an offer (not mine) of $40 was accepted.  So this guy rejected my offer, but accepted the same offer from someone else?!  I felt defeated/humiliated/embarrassed/let down/… but who cares my buddy won the game!  The only thing I had to do was email the guy pretending I was my friend.  You’ll be happy to know the scandal was pulled off without incident.  No one was wise to the situation except me and my friend… and my wife which ended up in an argument where she accused me of bullying the guy.  I felt bad for a second, bIMG_4544ut then realized I paid the guy exactly what the book value of the game was worth.  I can’t do this anymore however (I’m not allowed) which is unfortunate because 99.9% of the ads on Kijiji/Craigslist have prices that only an insane person would pay.  So I had to play it straight and was basically laughed at for the $30 I offered a guy for Final Fantasy 2 non the SNES…. he was asking $60 which is outrageous!  This is despite me sending him a link to JJgames.com which said the price (including shipping) was only $32.  This company is great; their prices are basically book value, but it comes with free shipping to the United States, and free internationally if the weight is under 1kg… which works out to 3 NES games.  I figured with fair prices and free shipping I should order something… and so I did.  Now my NES Mega Man collection is complete.  I have parts 1 – 6, though I still have to make cases for 4 & 5.  Along the way I also managed to pick up a copy of Life Force (which has writing on the cover… which was disclosed by JJgames so it is my fault it isn’t in “good” condition… thankfully it isn’t that bad and can pass my inspection), and Wizardry which is an RPG I look forward to playing this Friday night.

If you are thinking of ordering from JJgames, talk to me first so as you end up getting exactly what you want.  Unfortunately most Genesis games don’t come complete (which is a no no in my books… who the heck wants just a Genesis cartridge?).  I’ll be more than happy to share my positive experiences with you.

Until next time,

Nintendo Joe

5 thoughts on “Link and the Uncharted Waters Scandal

  1. Well, you must be the cutest Link I’ve ever seen! LOL
    I hope you were dressed up at the door for the trick-or-treaters that came by!
    Congrats on getting all of the NES Mega Man games! They are some of the best games for the NES.
    What kind of game is Uncharted Waters? Why is it worth so much? Have you played it yet?
    Are you still enjoying your Retron 5? Do you prefer it over original hardware?

    • Quit being a smart ass… I saw you yesterday and answered all your questions in more detail than both our wives cared to hear about. However for everyone else’s benefit, I’m not sure wh y Uncharted waters is so expensive. Its an okay game, but just okay. I’ve not yet played it, only seen it on youtube. It is interesting that they made another version of the game for the SNES which is both better, and cheaper!??!!

Leave a Reply

