Retron 5 Has Arrived!

IMG_4526Well the Retron 5 has finally arrived and Hyperkin (the manufacture) sure delivered a great product.  Now I’ll admit that it stayed in the box for two weeks before I opened it, but that was only because I suspected it didn’t come with an HDMI cable.  So I went out and bought one (thankfully very cheaply) only to find out that the bloody machine came with one!  Awesome… once you buy the Retron 5 you are ready to rock right away… and because of the HDMI capabilities you can hook it up to an HD television and experience great quality in terms of both sound and graphics for all the systems that it is comparable with (NES, SNES, Famicom, Super Famicom, Genesis, Game Boy Advance, Game Boy, Game Boy Colour).

IMG_4524What is really the only downfall about the Retron 5 is that games that were meant for a handheld system (GBA, GB, GBC) don’t look nearly as good as they do on a 2.5 inch screen.  On my 46″ screen it looks very blocky and the minimal use of colour on many of the games becomes very apparent.  That being said, the games are still very playable and I’m enjoying some of the classics all over again…. it’s like new life has been found inside these old cartridges.  It is nice to play Zelda II: The adventure of Link on my big TV.  By the way, as an supplemental to my last entry, one of the comments/complaints Shigeru Miyamoto (the creator of Link) had was that the monsters couldn’t be bigger due to the system’s limitations.  I think this is a load of hooey as Guts Dozer in Mega Man 2 was huge and didn’tIMG_4503 overly tax the system.  What they heck was Mr. Miyamoto talking about?  Anyways it was still an awesome game, and on the 46″ it looks fantastic!

SNES games play like a dream on the Retron 5, though admittedly some of the save states don’t work on at least a few titles that I’ve tried… namely Super Metroid.  But this is okay as I don’t mind playing the games as they were meant to be played… besides, SM had enough save spots in the regular game to make it more than fair.

The Retron 5 comes in two colours (black and white) and I chose the black version… actually I didn’t have a choice as the vendor I bought it from only had the black.  But I’m not disappointed in any way of the systems capabilities.  It comes exactly as advertised.  My only actual complaint is that I don’t really care for the accompanying controllers yoke stick.  I would have much preferred a cross-like design like on the SNES controller.  But this is a moot point as you can hook up the original controllers to the system as well.  The Retron 5 also lets you map out the controls to any way you wish to customize it.

I’ve been waiting for a long time for this machine to come out and I must say it was worth the wait.

imrs.phpOn a different note, this picture came from the Washington Post under the caption “Is This the Greatest Ebay Listing Ever?”.  Apparently it is a complete NES, SNES, N64, and Sega collection; and it can all be yours for the low asking price of $164,000.  Now the highest bid to this day on the collection is $45k which I think is a really lowball offer.  Is it worth the asking price?  Well apparently not as something is only worth what someone is willing to pay.  It will be interesting to see how much the collection ends up selling for.  Though admittedly even if I had the money I don’t think I would buy it as what would be the fun in that?  The fun is in the adventure of collecting.  If I just wanted to play every game I would download the ROMs and play them on my computer.  But where is the fun in that?!

I went on Kijiji the other day looking for games.  Not a deal to be found in all of our great city.  Everyone wants way too much for their games that I wonder if any product actually moves.  I have managed to sell off quite a few games as I think I price them right about 10-20% lower than the “list” price.  However the prices that people are asking are well over the list price and it seems as though they are trying to retire early.  Good luck!  Or perhaps I’m selling my games too cheaply.  My friend the Sega Dude has been telling me about a forum for the NEO GEO where people will sell games to other collectors for great deals… just don’t be reselling them or they will ban you from buying ever again!  I wish there was something like this for the NES/SNES.  The only reason I resell some of the games I buy at thrift stores is to fund my hobby of collecting games.   Nothing gives me a bigger rush than finding a good deal that I can add to my collection and blog about.

I’m done with EBAY.  The new import fee that most people from the U.S. are charging make it a complete rip off.  Basically they are saying that they will pay the duty on the shipment for you… for a fee.  In the last decade of ordering from EBAY, I’ve only had to pay duty once… ONE TIME!  Now thanks to Ebay’s greed I get charged every time.  So ya, I’m done with Ebay.  This will slow down my collecting, but as I have a regular job with a regular salary I just can’t justify paying even more fees!

Coming up on my next blog:  For Halloween I’m going to make an attempt at Link from the Legend of Zelda.  We’ll see how it turns out, but I’ll take pics along the way.  Halloween rules!

Later dudes,

Nintendo Joe:)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Retron 5 Has Arrived!

  1. ” it seems as though they are trying to retire early”

    That’s the same impression I get. Everyone and their mother think that the games they have are the rarest and most expensive ones in the market. “oh, I have the old NES, it’s retro and worth a lot! 150 bucks for the system, 2 controllers and SMB 1! That’s fair!”

  2. I’m also very discouraged by ebay. I’ve stopped buying from US sellers because they all seem to charge duty up front. I have never bought from these sellers and I wont.
    I’m still able to get some reasonable deals from Japanese sellers but it is getting harder.

    I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying the Retron 5. I think I might get it some day so long as the price tag doesn’t increase. If you find any games that don’t work well, let us know. It would be good to keep track of this kind of thing. And after you’ve had more with it do up another post and give us an update. Do you think you’ll prefer using the Retron 5 on an HD TV or will you discover that you like the look of these games on an old CRT tube TV better?

    If I had more money than I knew what to do with I think I’d be wiling to buy a whole collection like the auction you mentioned here. I’ve been collecting since the 90’s and things have really slowed down.

    But I’m not anywhere near rich so for now I’m still having fun with my new Neo Geo MVS collection. Your comment about the neo-geo.com forums is correct. Don’t even bother going there if you just want to buy. You need to be an active member in the forums in order to be allowed access to the market and it’s easy to get banned. They’ve done a great job making sure it’s a community first and foremost.

Leave a Reply

