Score!

It’s been a pretty dry garage sale season when it comes to game hunting… until last weekend!

IMG_3874All this plus a complete SNES console for a mere $54.  The Gameboy games were a big find, but the score of the day was the SNES along with 7 games… six of them boxed for $20!!  The best game that I don’t already have is Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario World 2, but the others are pretty good traders and I should get something pretty sweet for these titles.  Now the debate I’ve  been having this:  I already have Donkey Kong Country 1 & 2 in a case that I had made, now I have an extra copy of each in the original box.  The box (while cool to have) doubles the trade value.  Donkey Kong Country in the box alone is $40 all day long.  I don’t necessarily want the cash… in fact i would rather have another $40 game that i don’t have…. like Mega Man 4 for example.  Then I would keep my old copies of both games (already in a fancy universal case with a printed cover). Your thoughts?!

IMG_3877

To be completely honest, one of the Gameboy games in the above picture wasn’t from the big garage sale score.  Pokemon Blue Version for the Gameboy was actually a Value Village purchase ($10.50).  It’s complete which great, but as you all know Pokemon isn’t really my cup of tea.  That being said it has fantastic trade value and will sell on Kijiji fast.  Again… I would rather trade.  But I’m going to hold on to this game for a while for if you remember several months ago I was ripped off in a trade by some douchebag who claimed to have sent me in the mail a copy of Mega Man 5 and Mega Man X in trade for this game along with three others… all I ended up with in return was some bad feelings and a more suspicious mind.  It’s bitter sweet that I ended up finding this game again, and complete in the box at that:)

IMG_3876 These N64 carts were also a recent Value village purchase and in total amounted to $23 after tax.  Perfect Dark is an early FPS that isn’t that great by todays standards, but back when it came out was revolutionary.  Castlevania is the other title which is yet another 3rd person perspective game… much like most other N64 titles.  It’s like Nintendo found something that was pretty cool a few times (Ocarina of Time, Majora’s Mask, Mario 64) and decided that, hey, if it worked with a few hits, lets make ALL of our new games with the same engine.  That being said, Castlevania is actually a pretty cool game on the N64.  It has a targeting system much like that of the Zelda 64 titles, but I found that it was rather repetitive and became boring quite quickly.

Just throwing this out there… I would go so far as to say that the N64 is the worst of all the Nintendo consoles, with the SNES taking the top spot as terms of overall gaming fun.

What do you think is the best Nintendo console (excluding handhelds)?

Until next time, happy game hunting!

 

One thought on “Score!

  1. Keep the boxed games!! If you want the cart for your collection then keep the version of the game that is complete in the box! Don’t trade them away because you can get more for them. After a few years of collecting like you’re doing I think you could end up with a lot of original boxed NES and SNES games and they will make your collection feel more substantial. Go for Gold!
    The Universal boxes are nice and do a much better job than a loose cart but an original box is King. Keep these ones that came to you on the cheap and enjoy them. I bet you’ll regret it if you get rid of them.

Leave a Reply

