The $254 Purchase

The title of this post is supposed to be like “The Louisiana Purchase”, but it isn’t quite as clever (or funny) when I spell it out.  Doh!

GI Joe Vehicles Flagg IMG_3162Well I’ve done it… I’ve sold my old G.I. Joe collection.  I had it all man… the Flagg, Terror Drome, Sky Strikers, Rattlers, HISS, and about 115 figures including the original Cobra Commander, Scarlett, and Rock’n Roll among many others.  I had been collecting these toys since university (roughly 18 years ago), but I just wasn’t getting much enjoyment out of them anymore.  So I posted an add on Kijiji and basically sold the whole lot in less than 24 hours.  I knew it was going to sell, but not so quickly!  Anyways I got $1700 out of it which is a fraction of what I paid so I’m quite happy.  I could have gotten more if I had held out and sold the pieces to multiple buyers, but then I would have to deal with all these people in my house trying to lowball me.  I was lucky and got a quick sale and a reasonable price.  He got a good deal too though as the majority of the toys were in good shape and are hard to find.  I bring this up, as I now have some money to spend… $1700 to be exact.  All of a sudden Mega Man 5 is no longer unattainable:)

I had to wait for this guys yard sale for two weeks.  He had put up a post on Kijiji advertising as 1500+ video games.  I try not to get excited so as I’m not disappointed, but this couldn’t be helped.  The thing is, this yard sale was in Oshawa, Ontario (about a 30 minute drive) which is crazy far for something like this, but I couldn’t resist… and it paid off:)

IMG_3864IMG_3871

When I arrived at this dude’s place (at precisely 7:00am) I was already late.  Other collectors were already there!  Early bird gets the worm I suppose.  But there were lots of worms to go around.  I had no idea what this guys prices would be like so I just started making piles of games and accessories.  For the NES I managed to pick up a copy of Back to the Future 2 & 3, Dirty Harry, MTV Remote Control, Circus Caper, Dragon Power, Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Bad Street Brawler, Predator, Snoopy’s Silly Sports Spectacular, The Last Ninja, Amagon, Quantum Fighter, and last but not least The Adventures of Dizzy.  I also got an NES Max game pad, and a Quick Shot Joystick (I guess it is supposed to be for flight simulators??).  The max game pad seems pretty cool as it has a turbo feature.

IMG_3867Next up was a bin full of SNES games.  Aero the Acobat, Robo Cop Vs. The Terminator, Street Combat, Time Slip, C2: Judgement Clay, Wolf Child, and Pilot wings were the acquisitions of the day.  The game I’m most excited about is Clayfighter 2 as I just picked up the original last week.  Robocop and Terminator in the same game… are you kidding me???  While I’ve not played it yet, this game just has to be great… how can it not be when it stars two of the greatest cyborgs created (at least in my opinion).  While we are on the topic, I did see the new Robocop, and even though it received bad reviews I still liked it.  However not as much as the original as it lacked a villain as mean as as Clarence Bodicker, but what are you going to do?  I’ll try out these games and if I find that I don’t like them I’ll trade it for other games at the store up the street.

IMG_3870Also coincidently I found a copy of Donkey Konga 2 (with the set of bongo drums) for the Game Cube.  This was a good find since last week I also purchased the original game.  I hardly think the game will be that great, but the bongo drums will look great in the collection.

 

IMG_3869Mario Vs. Donkey Kong for the GBA, Mario & Yoshi, along with Bomberman for the Gameboy were three other finds.  Interestingly enough I have no idea how much the Mario & Yoshi game is worth as I can’t seem to find it on my usual website of choice, videogames.pricecharting.com.  I’m sure it is not a gem, but it is a Mario game that I didn’t have.

IMG_3872The best purchase however was a complete Nintendo Wii for $25.  Previously I was the owner of this system, but I traded it straight up for an Xbox 360 when it was still a big deal.  I just wasn’t playing it, and all my friends had Xbox.  Over all it was a good trade… but this just makes it all come together.  Now this doesn’t have the story of my old console… where the Sega Dude and I camped outside Toys R Us at 2:00am when this system was so popular for a while that you literally couldn’t get it in the stores.  It was an innovative machine that carried a price tag of $259.00.  Not bad when you put it up against the PS4, or Xbox One… neither of which I’m interested in at the moment as to me there doesn’t seem to be anything groundbreaking yet that would make me want to fork over $400 + tax for the system.

While there were no Mega Man 5’s to be found at this yard sale (or any Mega Man for that matter) I think I still did pretty good.  The guys prices were NOT typical garage sale prices but was somewhere in between them and store prices.  Basically his lot of games came from a Game Swap store and he was charging 50% of the price tag.  Perhaps a disgruntled employee?!? A good price for collecting.  I also did buy two Pokemon DS games (not pictured) to trade.  I have no idea why Pokemon is so popular because personally I couldn’t care less… but to each there own I suppose.  So the lot of games, accessories, and the Wii was $254.  A nice way to start out summer break!

2 thoughts on “The $254 Purchase

  1. That’s a huge haul of video games! Nice additions. Looks like you have some more cover printing to do! Why don’t you how us an updated picture of the collection with all the cases you’ve printed out. I’d love to see it.

    $1,700 is a lot of money for all those Joes! I think you did well. Hopefully you wont miss them too much down the road. So are you going to treat yourself to a game or two at ebay prices with all the money you made? 🙂

    Just tonight I was playing Child of Light ($15 download) on the PS4 and I love it. I’ve been finding tons of non AAA titles that I’m enjoying more than the typical first person shooter.
    For example, here are some awesome games that I have for the PS4:

    Child of Light
    Strider
    Trine 2
    Mercenary Kings
    Steam World Dig
    Fez
    Dead Nation
    Stealth Inc.

    Some of these games were free and the rest cost between $15 and $20 each. I’m really enjoying the PS4 a lot.

  2. Great finds! I think Mario & Yoshi is fairly common and went by the name Yoshi in North America, that may be why you couldn’t find it on that site. I’d say you could get it for 5-10 bucks over here depending on where you’d look, and probably even cheaper in the US and Canada.

    Well, I can’t get the JRPG hype as there simply are too many cinematics to be able to play the game fluently, or the popularity of the FPS genre, so I guess there are games that just aren’t for everyone.
    I think the hype behind pokemon is that you collect your monsters, you can trade them etc. I’d hardly call the main game anything extraordinary really, as it’s the multiplayer aspect, as in FPS games, that create the huge following, IMO.

Leave a Reply

