The Adventures of Duane and Brando

header-159659Last friday when I got home from work, I was thinking about what to post this Sunday when it sort of fell into my lap.  I remember listening to a song on youtube about how bad Megaman 7 was for the SNES, but couldn’t remember who wrote it.  Anyways I came across this rapping duo Duane and Brando who did a few songs about

duane-brando

some NES games.  At first I didn’t know what to think (admittedly I’m not really a fan of rap music… I’ve always been a metal head) however it didn’t take long to see that this duo actually has some talent.  The first song I listened to was about Mega Man 2, and how Dr Wily was trying to take over this b%&$*.  It was quite funny and had an angry tone to it.  The video was done to the video of someone playing the actual game with some added animations.

The-legend-of-zelda-8-bit-link

The next song I listened to was about the original Legend of Zelda and how Link was going to find Ganon and punish him severely for his crimes against Hyrule.  I can see Link’s point… how dare this evil pig man use the Triforce of Power for such evil deeds.  With power comes responsibility, and Ganon has none of this.  I always wondered why it was up to a 10 year old boy to save the land.  Then again, if memory serves correctly, Hyrule only had 5 residents… Link, the healing fairy, an old man who when you whacked him with your sword would shoot flaming balls at you from his bonfire, and some old hag who had a gambling addiction, and Zelda.  Oh make that 6 residents… i forgot about the merchant that ripped you off royally of all  your rupees for some lousy meat to feed that monster that growls at you.  I don’t know why Link didn’t just stab that monster as he did everything else in the game. The rest of Hyrule’s population were Ganon’s minions who were tired of being ruled by a useless princess.

f9a40f45fe4b48ab0db042323e322afb merchant oldlady oldman

Remember the Zelda commercial from the 80’s?  It told you nothing about the game except for the name of some of the monsters in the game told to us by some lunatic pretending to be Link.  It made me want to buy the game though so I guess it worked.

zelda-i-am-error-e

The next Duane and Brando song I listened to was about Zelda 2: The Adventure of Link.  This game was a huge improvement over the original no only because it seemed as though many more people migrated to Hyrule, but also because there was a role play element where you could earn experience points (the only one of the entire series).  The song itself is pretty good and utilizes all the music from the game.  In the video it also has a part in it where my favourite character from all of the Zelda series appears.  That character is the one and only “I am Error” guy.  You have to wonder what kind of parents would name their son Error?  It really gets you thinking about all the horrible names out there, but this one takes the prize.  His name basically means that he was unplanned and unwanted.  His parents probably got really drunk one night and didn’t think a condom was necessary when it came time to get down to business.  I really feel for this guy and would gladly donate several rupees to help him out.  Perhaps we should start an Error foundation to help all the children in the world who are cursed with such horrible names?  Can you say KA-CHING!!!!

3 thoughts on “The Adventures of Duane and Brando

  1. “Then again, if memory serves correctly, Hyrule only had 5 residents… Link, the healing fairy, an old man who when you whacked him with your sword would shoot flaming balls at you from his bonfire, and some old hag who had a gambling addiction, and Zelda. Oh make that 6 residents… i forgot about the merchant that ripped you off royally of all your rupees for some lousy meat to feed that monster that growls at you. ”

    So true! I never thought of this as I always saw the monster-riddled lands everywhere. Hilarious!

    “His name [Error] basically means that he was unplanned and unwanted.”

    Oh God, that’s so funny! 😀

  2. For so long I’ve wanted to play both Zelda 1 and 2. Back in the day I always love my Sega Master System but I was no fool. I knew the NES had great stuff too. But I could not have both and from what little I played at my friends house I knew they rocked.
    I remember watching my friend (Adam) play and I kept telling him to go back and check in on the Error guy. I was sure something would change at some point! I drove Adam mad with my insistence 🙂

Leave a Reply

