The Game Chasers

I thought I would make a post on a youtube series called the Game Chasers.  It chronicles the lives of Billy and Jay as they hunt for retro video games in Texas.  There are 30 or so “episodes” and most of them are quite entertaining even to those who don’t share a passion for these games.

2012-05-15T15-56-25.000Z They come across many interesting characters (most of them are super nerds) in their travels, and often repeatedly use short clips of them most memorable.  The “alright” guy is probably my favourite.  Billy and Jay seem like nice people and are often quite funny… though that being said I have no urge to meet them in person as some of their fans seem to.

 

Screen-shot-2012-01-17-at-9.09.51-AMThe most memorable episode for me was the one where Billy found the Flintstones: The Surprise at Dinosaur Peak for $5.  This game (if you can find it) is one of the more rare games as it was only made for rental at Blockbuster Video stores, and normally sells for around $400 on Ebay.
IMG_2799

While I don’t have a personal story that can top that, I do have a rather fun one.  Here in Canada we have a thrift store chain called Value Village (called Savers in the United States).  My wife and I occasionally do a tour of all the VV’s in town which is quite a feat considering there are over 12 of them spread out all over the city.  When we enter the store, we part ways… me towards the video games, and her to the toy section (she looks for retro toys to sell on ETSY and has had a lot of luck lately:).  Anyways, on one such tour I came across Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars for the SNES in the box!  I’m not really into boxed games as I don’t really see the point of keeping them in that condition and not playing them.  However In this case I’ll make an exception.  I couldn’t’ believe my luck… this game regularly sells for around $150 on Ebay!  The price I paid was $13 which seems like a bit much for a thrift store, however they marked it up as it was a complete game.  When I get excited my hands get pins and needles in them which is a health condition I should probably get checked out sometime when I get around to it.  As there were no cameras around I didn’t really get a chance to ham it up.  It is my Nintendo prize that sits atop my collection.  I doubt I will ever find such a deal again, but it is the hope that keeps me going to thrift stores.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Game Chasers

  1. Thrift stores really are hit or miss. But they are worth checking out any time you’re close by. You just never know what you’ll find. In fact just today I found a SNES Super Mario World cart for $7. It’s no Super Mario RPG but still a nice find.
    You need to post some pictures of your Nintendo collection! The world needs to see what you’ve got 🙂
    And I love your new wordpress theme. Your site is really starting to look good. Keep it up!

  2. I found Mario Party 4, Zelda Collectors Edition, Luigi’s mansion and Pac Man/ Pac Man’s World 2 complete at a Salvation Army thrift store in Vancouver, for 5 dollars each. That’s insane, I doubt I’ll luck out like that again!

      • The Legend of Zelda: Collectors Edition for the Gamecube that came with pre-orders of Wind Waker. It’s really neat! It contains Ocarina of Time, Majora’s Mask for the N64 Zelda 1 and 2 for the NES.

      • See, that does sound great! That’s 4 Zelda games in one. That rocks.
        I only ever really played Zelda for the SNES and loved it. I want to try the other ones too.

Leave a Reply

