Super Metroid Comes Home!

IMG_0164

My dear friend the sega dude (pictured above) has been collecting games since university back in the mid 90’s and he has built up quite an impressive display.  As his name indicates, he is primarily into Sega/Mega Drive, but occasionally he’ll dabble some NES/SNES.  While I haven’t been collecting for nearly as long, we felt that we had acquired too many doubles thus when we stumbled upon the VGCC.ca seasonal swap meet, we were quick to sign up for an exhibitor table.  Even though we were so late in signing up, the convenors were friendly enough to squeeze us in!  At $25 per table, this was a bargain!  Interestingly enough the guy who had the table beside us had bought games from me before at on of my yard sales this past summer… small world.  My quest in at going to this event was to bring home a copy of Super Metroid, however there were only two vendors at the entire event that had a single copy each… and one was only using it as a display… he was taunting me!  However with a lot of verbal harassment (and and i mean A LOT!) he finally caved and sold it to me for $45.  This was a tad more than I wanted to pay, but I couldn’t turn it down because it is my favourite game for the SNES and I haven’t even physically played it…. ever… that’s how good this game really is.

IMG_2764

I was able to pick up a few other titles… most notably Final Fantasy and Ultima: Quest of the Avatar for $25 total.  I’m not really sure about the Ultima game as I’ve never played (or seen it played) before.  However it is an RPG so I figured I would give it a shot.  Maybe I’ll write a review of it in a later posting.  Final Fantasy is a classic that goes without saying.  

The Sega Dude told me I should use this site as a bit of a trading post.  Back in university, he had a site and if I remember correctly he did quite well… made a lot of contacts, and was able to get some good trades.  Maybe he was onto something.  The games I’m looking for are pretty standard:  Anything with Zelda, Metroid, Mega Man, Mario, etc..  I’m missing 4 & 5 of the NES Mega Man, and all of the X games.  True, I have a copy of Rockman X, but that doesn’t really count.

The hunt for games must go on!

One thought on “Super Metroid Comes Home!

Leave a Reply

