Retro Duohttps://mynintendodimension.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/img_2652.jpg?w=650

To duo, or not to duo… that is obviously not the question and would never use that in a stand up routine for I would justifiably get beat up by a big guy with tattoos.  Actually I love tattoos, but not when they belong to a big ogre who wants to end my life.  On the bright side, if life were a video game I would get lots of experience points if I bested him:

Image

So I bought myself a duo for $30.  Yes it was cheap, but considering that the RetroN 5 is coming out in the late fall I may have jumped the gun.  The thought in buying this was that as with most cool things, the actual release date is much later than what is predicted.  The Duo plays NES, SNES, Famicom, and Super Famicom games.  From what I’ve been reading, it plays the games rather well, however some the music is apparently a bit off from the original.  I’ll still buy the RetroN 5 though as it will be nice to play my Gameboy Advance games on a bigger TV.

ImageFor $50 I picked up these 5 games.  It is more than I usually pay, however all of them fit nicely into my SNES collection.  I’ve limited my SNES collecting to only franchise games like Mario, Mega Man, Star Fox, Zelda, Donkey Kong, and my favourite title for the console… Super Metroid.  This game was such a great sequel… perhaps the best I’ve ever played.  Truth be told, I’ve never actually “played” the game myself, but did watch a dude get a perfect score on youtube… that’s got to count for something?!  Anyways, and it seemed really great and I highly recommend clicking the hyperlink if you have absolutely nothing else to do.  I can’t wait to play it!

I thought I would also include some other links to the cover project so you can download (or better yet upload) all the cover art for nearly every video game console on the market.  As I was mentioning in my previous post, I’ve decided to revamp my NES collection by purchasing a box of universal game covers from media shelving.  Their customer service is actually quite good, however since they are in California, and I from Canada, I was forced use Fed Ex and they really robbed me with a cross boarder brokerage fee.  It added $27 to my total.  You folks in the US don’t realize how expensive it is to ship items to Canada.  Even Canada Post is a rip off!

Sunday, my buddy (the sega dude) and I are going to a video game swap meet.  Collectively we have over 200 games to trade. We were hoping to get a table, but apparently they sold all 80 of them.  That might not sound like a lot, but it is in a small town, and eighty extra people pretty much doubles it’s population.  Anyways we are hoping for a big score.  If you click on the sega dude link, he posted a video of me robbing his beloved SNES Contra 3.  I just didn’t feel it belonged in a SEGA collection:)

2 thoughts on “Retro Duohttps://mynintendodimension.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/img_2652.jpg?w=650

  1. I’m also excited about the RetroN 5. I’m hoping this one will be the ultimate multi-console. There are many out there now and while most are pretty good non are really good.
    However, right off the bat I know the RetroN 5 does not support Sega Master System. It’s a shame too because I thought it would be an easy thing considering it can play Genesis games. So forget that part I said about Ultimate… 😦

    I think having the Super Famicom version of Mega Man is just fine. Rock Man is definitely a game you can play despite the Japanese language.
    Those are some good additions you have there! Try out Starfox. Even thought it’s graphics aren’t cutting edge any more it’s still an awesome game.

  2. I wouldn’t want to get beaten up by a big tattoed guy for exclusively using a retro duo for my gaming needs either! 😀

    Other than that:

    MEGA MAN X!!

    One of the best games for the SNES, alongside Super Metroid.

Leave a Reply

